Teen Sailing
 

      It really is an awsome feeling the first day you get your boat out on the water! Well thats what I did and I realized exactly what Captain Ron meant when he said "Anything thats gonna happen is gonna happen out there!". Sadly I can say I experinced some of the not so fun parts about any hobby after I "got out there". 
     I realized soon after launching that the boat became a little heavy in the stern, so I opened up the live well and to my great surprise I had managed to fill that sucker with quiet a bit of water. Just great was the first thing that came to mind but NO! I was gonna keep on! So I sailed downwind a little toward the beach and ended up getting some great winds so I decided to head across on a reach and enjoy being out there. Well no sooner than that another amazing problem erupted...
      Now for all of you that sail I bet you probably know how the rudder gets hooked on to a boat. Well this rudder is a real fun one! It does not pop up for beaching, you have to pull the enitre rudder out of the mounts. Possibly the most annoying part of my boat. So basically this is what happened to me in the middle of the lake, I'm sailing and then I all of a sudden stop and start to turn. Well my friends the rudder popped up and  was no longer attached. I had lost my mount! I had only the top mount left. So I had one heck of a time attempting to make it back to the beach which was no short trip. 
      The majority of my problems were because of the mounts on the boat and the fashion they had been placed in. The bolts for the mounts went into the live well and thats what caused the leak but I am about to make some improvements on the boat and that is just another task I have to add to the project list...

andrew shoemaker
7/27/2009 03:41:58 am

wow ryan y0u would keep sailing even thouhg you boat is sinking and i bet i was extremly fun getting back to shore with no ruder but good job not sinkng it or caspising

Reply
7/27/2009 03:47:38 am

Well the rudder was partially on I had only one mount left hehe. Not good but i did a complete overhaul on the boat and added alot of stuff.

Reply



Leave a Reply.